

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Arms Act 1983: Release of Discussion Document on Regulations for a Firearms Registry

Portfolio Police

On 24 August 2022, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee:

- noted that regulations relating to the establishment of a firearms registry are needed to implement amendments to the Arms Act 1983 that come into force on 24 June 2023;
- noted that before recommending any regulations be made under the Arms Act 1983, the Minister of Police is required to be satisfied that the Commissioner of Police has done everything reasonable to consult with individuals and organisations (or representatives of those organisations) that appear to be affected or likely to be affected by such regulations;
- agreed to the release of the discussion document *Proposals for New Regulations under the Arms Act 1983 Phase Three: Consultation on the Firearms Registry*, attached under SWC-22-SUB-0155, which contains proposals on regulations for a firearms registry;
- 4 **noted** that consultation is proposed for six weeks, beginning as soon as possible following Cabinet approval;
- authorised the Minister of Police to make any necessary minor technical or editorial changes to the public discussion document prior to its release;
- **invited** the Minister of Police to report back to the appropriate Cabinet committee on the outcome of the consultation and to seek policy decisions for the drafting of new regulations.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for SWC