

# Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

### **Minute of Decision**

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

## Regulatory Proposals for Shooting Clubs and Ranges : Release of Discussion Document

Portfolio Police

On 16 March 2022, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- noted that regulations are needed to support the implementation of amendments to the Arms Act 1983 requiring approval of shooting clubs and certification of shooting ranges by the Commissioner of Police, which take effect on 24 June 2022;
- noted that before recommending any regulations be made under the Arms Act 1983, the Minister of Police is required to be satisfied that the Commissioner of Police has done everything reasonable to consult with individuals and organisations that appear to be affected by such regulations;
- agreed to the release of *Proposals for new regulations under the Arms Act 1983 (Phase Two) Shooting Clubs and Ranges* (the consultation document), attached under SWC-22-SUB-0038, for a six-week public consultation, commencing as soon as possible;
- 4 **authorised** the Minister of Police to make any editorial or minor technical changes to the consultation document prior to its release;
- 5 **invited** the Minister of Police to report back to SWC, once consultation is complete, to seek agreement to final proposals and approval to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary Counsel Office.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the Chair

Officials Committee for SWC