



ADVISORY REGARDING FINANCIAL DEALINGS WITH LOCATIONS OF SPECIFIC CONCERN

8 December 2017

On 3 November 2017 the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) issued a <u>Public Statement</u> concerning countries identified as posing international money laundering and terrorism financing risks, due to them having deficient Anti-Money Laundering and Countering Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) measures.

Accordingly, the Ministry of Justice and the Financial Intelligence Unit of the New Zealand Police advise entities¹ to give special attention to business relationships and transactions with:

• **Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK)**, including DPRK companies and financial institutions.

In addition to enhanced scrutiny, jurisdictions are advised to apply effective countermeasures and targeted financial sanctions in accordance with applicable United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Resolutions to protect their financial sectors from risks related to money laundering, financing of terrorism and financing of proliferation of weapons of mass destruction emanating from the DPRK.

Jurisdictions should take necessary measures to close existing branches, subsidiaries and representative offices of DPRK banks within their territories and terminate correspondent relationships with DPRK banks, where required by relevant UNSC Resolutions.

Iran had its counter-measures suspended for twelve months from June 2016 in order for the FATF to monitor its progress in implementing an Action Plan that addresses its strategic AML/CFT deficiencies. In light of Iran's demonstration of its political commitment and the relevant steps it has taken in line with its Action Plan, the FATF has decided to continue the suspension of counter-measures. The Action Plan expires on 31 January 2018 and the FATF urges Iran to proceed swiftly in the reform path to ensure full and accurate implementation of the Action Plan, addressing all remaining AML/CFT deficiencies, in particular those related to terrorist financing. At its February 2018 meeting, the FATF will assess progress made by Iran and take all appropriate action.

The Ministry of Justice and the Financial Intelligence Unit of the New Zealand Police recommend that entities remain aware of the ML/FT risks posed by Iran. Entities are advised to apply enhanced due diligence to business relationships and transactions with natural and legal persons from Iran, consistent with FATF Recommendation 19.

Regarding Iran, entities are further advised that UNSC Resolution 2231 (2015) provides for the termination of provisions of previous UNSC Resolutions regarding Iran and establishes new specific restrictions that apply to all States without exception. New Zealand has given effect to this resolution through the United Nations (Iran—Joint

¹ Entities include 'reporting entities' as defined in section 5 of the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering Financing of Terrorism Act 2009 and 'financial institutions' as defined in section 3 of the Financial Transactions Reporting Act 1996.

Comprehensive Plan of Action) Regulations 2016, which came into force on 19 February 2016.

The regulations have removed the requirement for all New Zealanders, persons in New Zealand, and New Zealand entities doing business with Iran to be registered with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. However, restrictions remain on the following: trade in nuclear-related material, equipment or technology; ballistic missile related technology; and conventional arms.

Entities are advised to take into account United States Treasury <u>guidelines</u> providing clarity on the scope of US financial and banking sanctions recently lifted against non-US financial institutions.

Entities are also advised to take note of an additional document updated by the FATF on 3 November 2017: <u>Improving Global AML/CFT Compliance: On-going Process</u>.

In this document the FATF has identified a number of jurisdictions that have strategic AML/CFT deficiencies. The jurisdictions identified in this document are:

• Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ethiopia, Iraq, Sri Lanka, Syria, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Vanuatu and Yemen.

Uganda was removed from the Compliance document.